Skip to content

Successful

December 13, 2015

photo (1)This word is defined by different people different ways. Many think it has to do with how much money you make. Others think it’s the title of their position at work. A lot of folks would say those who have been blessed with a close family are successful. There are probably too many people who think they’ll never be as successful as _____(fill in the blank).

I just participated in my church’s year-end offering and our pastor encourages us to pick a word we’re believing for 2016. I’ve thought long and hard about it the past few weeks and was really struggling. Then, while discussing something completely different, I told someone how thankful I am that this life is an open book test for believers. That’s when I finally realized I have that book for my benefit!

I opened up my New Living Translation Bible (yes, I believe it’s okay to read more than one version) to the concordance in the back. I wanted a word that would jump out at me. It didn’t seem to work, as I wanted it to of course be about God, not me. Then I stumbled upon one that just sounded so selfish to me: Successful! Well I decided to look at the first Bible reference it gave me out of curiosity. Deuteronomy 8:18 was the first one. It reads, “Remember the LORD your God. He is the one who gives you power to be successful, in order to fulfill the covenant he confirmed to your ancestors with an oath.”

This was such a great reminder to me that everything I have is from God, including my abilities. He wants me to have success for His glory! It’s not something I should shy away from in any way. Instead I should pursue success while remembering any gain is because of Him!

The craziest little detail was the word fulfill being in this verse. The series we are finishing this weekend as we bring our offering is titled Full.Filled. Sometimes I work too hard to think of the perfect thing to say or do when the answer to my question is right in front of me in this instruction manual / love letter I call my Bible. I’m boldly declaring this is going to be my most successful year to date, thanks to Him! If you have a word you’re believing in I would love to hear it!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Boy do I love this one, George! I love that Pastor Steven is in this series and I love you sharing about what that means to you. I haven’t picked a word yet. Right now, ‘prayer’ and everything that has to do with serious, fervent, ferocious prayer is where my head has been. So on that note, perhaps I start ‘praying’ for that word 😀 Love you, Brother!

  2. Awww. Thanks Sis – I love you too!

Leave a Reply

