Skip to content

One Way Friendship

February 24, 2016

Do you ever get frustrated when you make the effort to reach out to someone and they don’t respond? Has it happened with someone you consider(ed) a friend? It happens to me a lot. To be honest, it hurts.

I start evaluating why my feelings don’t seem to matter to them. Don’t they appreciate me? Did I do something to offend them? Is it simply a time and distance effect that makes it easy to forget about me? Did they ever consider me a friend at all?

The answers to these questions go unanswered for the most part. Sometimes the answer really is the time and distance that separate us, and perhaps I was guilty of ignoring them for too long. I’ve done some soul searching and realize too many times I have been the person who didn’t respond. I didn’t show that I cared at one time or another, and that’s probably because I was so wrapped up in me.

When I dig a little deeper it’s easy to see I’m guilty of being the one who ignored Jesus for so, so long. There are still times, daily, when I know I’m not leaning on Him the way He’d like. Yet the great lesson I’d like to share through this is He is always there for me. He is the best example there is of how to deal with a one way friendship.

I believe He hurts when we ignore Him. The big difference between His hurt and the feeling we have when we’re ignored is He hurts for us, not Himself. We’re missing out on so much goodness He wants to give us.

So often we don’t reach out to God until we’re in a desperate situation. I know I’m guilty of that. I ignored Him for decades. The fact He still welcomed me back with open arms blows me away. That’s why today I just want to say thanks to God for everything He does.

I want to follow His example and not give up on those who I feel are on the other side of my one way friendship. If that friendship became that way through a fault of my own I am truly sorry. If it’s just a deal where life has become so busy you don’t have time, I understand. Just know that the day you decide you need a friend and there’s no one to be found, God will be there for you. I’d be happy to be there too, but my feelings will be more than fine if you find your refuge in Him. He’s the ultimate on love, forgiveness and one-way friendships. He laid down His life for His friends.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I’m penning alongside you here Brother, coming out of some quiet time with the Lord this morning where He has been sinking this discussion of ‘friendship’ deep within. The Lord reminds us often that ‘either way, I am with you’. This friendship with Him is more than adhering to rules or ‘getting it right’ every time. The Lord’s friendship does not waver with us… He is with us. He is Immanuel. The Lord wants to be present, to just be with us. It’s also what He has in mind for us when it comes to other people. The world can make you think that friendship can be picked up anywhere. But the kind of love and friendship that God created and demonstrated is a costly one because it involves sacrifice and presence. There’s a brand of friendship Jesus offers that is more about presence. It doesn’t just think about good things, or agree with them, or talk about them. The love that transcends from spending this time in the presence of Love will not be able to hold back the overflow into the friendships around us. Sometimes our schedules get in the way. Sometimes our selfish desires stand between us and the sacrifice to just be present with someone else. Thank you for sharing this message with the world, George. I, for one, am grateful for your friendship.

Leave a Reply

