Skip to content

That Your Faith Should Not Fail

April 9, 2016

I’ve had the honor and privilege of being asked to pray for people. Specifically, I have had several people ask me to pray for their children. One of the beautiful things about people knowing that I drifted far from God and came back to Him, is they know I can relate to the struggle their children are going through. I believe God allowed me to go through some of the things I have so that I can empathize with others now.

The prayer itself is hard sometimes, as I don’t know every detail of someone else’s struggle. I pray asking and believing God can and will show Himself to them in a way only He can. Often I pray for the comfort of the loved ones. I don’t think that’s a bad thing, but what if we’re supposed to struggle sometimes to test our faith?

If your child was Simon, or Peter, would you have prayed asking God keep him from denying Christ? I think we all probably would have. Yet Jesus knew Peter would deny Him three times but pleaded in prayer (Luke 22:32 NKJV) “But I have prayed for you, that your faith should not fail; and when you have returned to Me, strengthen your brethren.”

I know there were people praying for me while I was so self-absorbed God was an afterthought. I know there were family members in pain over how I was living my life. Maybe I needed to go through everything I did to get to a point where I was so vulnerable I finally understood how much Christ loved me. Maybe you or a loved one needs or needed to as well.

The beautiful thing about this passage is seeing that our all-knowing Savior knows we’re going to turn our backs to Him at times. Yet all we have to do is return to Him and He can use those tough times where we tried to do things our way as a teaching tool for others. Our story can strengthen others.

This brings me back to how I pray for others now. Yes, I want good things for them, the best. Even though they may momentarily, or even for years, turn away from God, I am now praying for their faith. Only God can turn our messes into ministry, but if we never had a mess how much of an impact can we really have on others? While you may be praying for someone right now, are  you experiencing that peace that passes all understanding? Maybe your faith is being tested and you are so focused on who you’re praying for you aren’t learning the lesson(s) you should.

Please don’t think I’m saying not to pray that others don’t fail God or that I want people to suffer. I just want you to know that while there is pain, God is working all things together for His good to them that love Him. They may need to go through their current trial in order to get to the point they quit relying on themselves or anyone other than God. I pray that their faith and your faith will not fail!

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. “They may need to go through their current trial in order to get to the point they quit relying on themselves or anyone other than God. I pray that their faith and your faith will not fail!” LOVE THIS, George!

Leave a Reply

